Meet Natasha Dominey - Outward Bound

Meet Natasha Dominey

Timaru’s Youth Worker Making a Difference

Inspirational, Life after OB

This month we caught up with YMCA tutor Natasha Dominey who took part on Connect, the Outward Bound course designed specifically to build the skills and confidence of individuals working with NZ youth. Natasha describes her OB experience as life-changing on many levels.

Where do you live and what do you do?

I’m blessed to live in the mighty metropolis of Timaru where I work as a youth guarantee tutor for the YMCA. My role is to teach students aged 15-20 yrs who need a ‘second chance’ in education. I support them to attain NCEA Level 1 & 2. It’s a hugely rewarding job. I love our young people!

When did you go to Outward Bound?

I was in Kupe watch 644. I went in August last year. Was it cold? Yes! but to be honest, that time of year is just so beautiful. I wouldn’t change a thing.

How was your experience?

There really is only one word to describe my course - life-changing! I now know that I can achieve anything I put my mind to. At the start of the course I really had my doubts if I was up to the challenges on offer, but as soon as I realized that my watchmates were all in the same boat, I got over that fear.

What did you take away from your OB course?

There was a point on course, where I was literally stuck on the rock-climbing wall of the high ropes course. It’s the last challenge on the high ropes and it’s not fixed, so it’s like a ‘floating’ rock wall 10 metres above the ground. I was exhausted and felt the only way I could finish would be to fall off. But instead, I reflected on the Good Wolf, Bad Wolf story our instructor Finn shared with us. By remembering this and feeding my 'good wolf' I made my way across the rock wall to finish the high ropes course without falling. This was a pivotal point of course which had altered my mindset. It made me understand how I have the power to control my thoughts.