Craig's reaching new heights he never thought possible - Outward Bound

Craig's reaching new heights he never thought possible

My Course, Inspirational

My name is Craig and I am a proud OB Alumnus. But I am not like most students who attend. I am 24 years old and I have had four strokes. These have left me with difficulty walking, slightly slurred speech, and minor fine motor skills reduction. I have to use a walker or a mobility scooter to get about.

I believe my condition has actually been beneficial to my growth as a person. I have learned many life lessons and developed characteristics such as tenacity and perseverance that I would not have had otherwise. I have a degree in graphic design and also studied computer science. I work in IT and write and perform poetry as a creative outlet.

Last year I had the amazing privilege of being able to attend the Outward Bound Activate course. Activate is an adapted course that allows people like me, who are not so physically able, to experience the challenge and adventure of an Outward Bound course.

Craig

I went into the course with a bit of a bad attitude, thinking it wouldn’t challenge me and that I’d be held back by others in my watch. Over the duration of the course, I learnt that there are more benefits to working as a team rather than an individual. I learned to be patient and tried to help others out a lot more.